Bike 4 Bangers Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Can’t we all just get along? Bikers and Drivers?

This article spread a bit of sunshine across my day. Like the author, I too, almost always have negative associations with cars as I ride on my commutes and for fun. However, it is truly possible to connect with other people, even if they are driving a car.

Check out this article to learn about a far-too-infrequent connection that can happen between a driver and a biker.

Really, it’s a story about humans in general … how often do we ever connect with other strangers in a positive and meaningful way? Not often enough!
Al with Bike 4 Bangers

Amplify’d from www.salon.com

Interactions between drivers and cyclists are often no fun for anybody. But not always!

I made it to the store, returned my DVD, and was unlocking my bike to ride back home when a tall stranger called out to me.
“I want you to know that you have convinced me to buy a bike.”
You may be wondering why I decided to share this tiny urban cycling vignette. In the big scheme of things it’s not all that important. But it brightened up my day like a ray of afternoon sunshine breaking through a blanket of San Francisco Bay Area fog and I just had to share the glee. Real human contact with a complete stranger is much rarer in our lives than it should be. And any time someone decides to ride a bike instead of driving a car is good for them and does the world a favor. And might even be good for someone else too, who isn’t riding a bike … yet.

Read more at www.salon.com

August 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

